About Us Functions of the Commission Powers of the Commission Profiles of Commissioners State Advisory Committee Organization Chart Officers List

About Us

    The Uttarakhand Electricity Regulatory Commission was constituted by Government of Uttarakhand, vide Notification 03/9-3- URJA/2002 dated 1st January, 2002 under the Electricity Regulatory Commission Act, 1998. The broad objectives of the Electricity Act, 2003 as incorporated in its preamble is to consolidate the laws relating to generation, transmission, distribution, trading and use of electricity and generally for taking measures conducive to development of electricity industry, protecting interest of consumers and supply of electricity to all areas.

Functions of the Commission

Section 86 of the Electricity Act, 2003 provides that the State Commission would discharge the following functions:

  • Determine the tariff for generation, supply, transmission and wheeling of electricity, wholesale, bulk or retail, as the case may be, within the State: Provided that where open access has been permitted to a category of consumers under section 42, the State Commission shall determine only the wheeling charges and surcharge thereon, if any, for the said category of consumers.

  • Regulate electricity purchase and procurement process of distribution licensees including the price at which electricity shall be procured from the generating companies or licensees or from other sources through agreements for purchase of power for distribution and supply within the State.

  • Facilitate intra-State transmission and wheeling of electricity.

  • Issue licenses to persons seeking to act as transmission licensees, distribution licensees and electricity traders with respect to their operations within the State.

  • Promote cogeneration and generation of electricity from renewable sources of energy by providing suitable measures for connectivity with the grid and sale of electricity to any person, and also specify, for purchase of electricity from such sources, a percentage of the total consumption of electricity in the area of a distribution licensee.

  • Adjudicate upon the disputes between the licensees and generating companies and to refer any dispute for arbitration.

  • Levy fee for the purposes of this Act.

  • Specify State Grid Code consistent with the Grid Code specified under clause (h) of sub-section (1) of section 79.

  • Specify or enforce standards with respect to quality, continuity and reliability of service by licensees.

  • Fix the trading margin in the intra-State trading of electricity, if considered, necessary. Discharges such other functions as may be assigned to it under this Act. Under the Electricity Act, 2003 the Commission shall also advise the State Government on all matters pertaining to:

    1. Promotion of competition, efficiency and economy in activities of the electricity industry;

    2. Promotion of investment in electricity industry; reorganization and restructuring of electricity industry in the State

    Matters concerning generation, transmission, distribution and trading of electricity or any other matter referred by the Government.

Powers of the Commission

Section 94 of Electricity Act, 2003 on power vested with the state Commission provides as follows:

1. The Appropriate Commission shall, for the purposes of any inquiry or proceedings under this Act, have the same powers as are vested in a civil court under the Code of Civil Procedure, 1908 in respect of the following matters, namely: -

a.   summoning and enforcing the attendance of any person and examining him on oath;

b.   discovery and production of any document or other material object producible as evidence;

c.    receiving evidence on affidavits;

d.   requisitioning of any public record;

e.    issuing commission for the examination of witnesses;

f.     reviewing its decisions, directions and orders;

g.    any other matter which may be prescribed.

2. The Appropriate Commission shall have the powers to pass such interim order in any proceeding, hearing or matter before the Appropriate Commission, as that Commission may consider appropriate.

3. The Appropriate Commission may authorize any person, as it deems fit, to represent the interest of the consumers in the proceedings before it..

Profiles of Commissioners

                                                                Hon'ble Mr. Subhash Kumar, IAS (Retd.)

        Shri Subhash Kumar joined Uttarakhand Electricity Regulatory Commission on 21.10.2014 as Chairman.  He was born in Village-Kewling (Lahaul & Spiti) (H.P.) on 17th April, 1954.  He  joined the Indian Police Service (IPS) on 1976 and joined Indian Administrative Service (IAS) in 1977.

        Before joining as Chairman UERC, he has served as Chief Secretary, Uttarakhand in two stints and held various key positions in Govt. of Uttarakhand viz. Additional Chief Secretary to all the Chief Ministers of Uttarkahand, Principal Secretary, Revenue, Excise,Home and Vigilance.

        Sh. Subhash Kumar served as District Magistrate Lalitpur, Itawa, Sultanpur and Allahabad (Uttar Pradesh) for long 9 years. He served as City Magistrate and Additional District Magistrate (City) of Meerut city in the initial years of his services.

     He also served as Chairman, Board of Revenue and Vice Chancellor of Govind Ballabh Pant University of Agriculture and Technology.  He held the positions of Commissioner Allahabad, Garhwal, Saharanpur, Kumaon for continuous 15 years.  After during British Commissioner Sir Henry Ramsay, he held the distinction of serving as the longest serving Commissioner in independent India.

       Besides the above, he had the distinction of conducting Ardh Kumbh Mela of 1995 at Allahabad. Again he had the distinction of conducting Maha Kumbh Mela of Haridwar of the year 1998 which was the last Mahakubh Mela of 20th Century and also conducting and supervising the Ardh Kumbh Mela of Haridwar in the year 2004.  He has the credit of supervising and conducting the first Maha Kumbh Mela of 21st Century at Haridwar in 2010.During his posting in the then Uttar Pradesh Shri Kumar won 3 Gold Medals for his outstanding performance in the field of National Saving, Family Planning and 20 point program.During the disaster of the Kedar Nath Valley in 2013 he handled the rescue, relief and rehabilitation in Uttarakhand where almost 5000 peoples were missing or dead.After serving 38 years in the service Shri Kumar is now posted as Chairman, Uttarakhand Electricity Regulatory Commission.                                  

State Advisory Committee


Organization Chart
Officers List
  • Sh. Neeraj Sati, Secretary

  • Sh. Deepak Pandey, Director (Finance)

  • Sh. Prabhat Kishor Dimri,Director (Technical)

  • Sh. Rajnish Mathur,Director (Costing/Licensing)

  • Sh. Mukesh C.Verma,Dy. Director (Information Technology)

  • Sh. Deepak Kumar,Dy. Director (Administration)

  • Sh. Yashwardhan Dimri,Dy. Director (Technical)

  • Sh. Radhyshyam, Dy. Director (Accounts)

  • Sh. Gaurav Lohani,Assistant Director (Tariff)

  • Sh. Gaurav Sabharwal,Assistant Director (Finance/Tariff)